What is Dhatu Rog and its cure

The Pancha Maha Bootha Theory

According to Ayurveda, the whole universe and the human body are made up of five elements.

  • Apo - water
  • Thejo - fire
  • Vayo - air
  • Pruthuvi - earth
  • Akasha - space / ether

Tri Dosha

Every human being consists of the 3 doshas called Vatha, Pitha and Kapha. Tri Dosha are the active forces in our body. They regulate all organ functions in the body. The construction of our body, its maintenance and decomposition happen due to the Tri Dosha. If the Tri Dosha are in balance, the body is in a healthy state of health. An imbalance in the Tri Dosha can lead to disease.


In Sanskrit, the individual constitution of every person is called “Prakurthi”. The meaning of Prakurthi is "nature" or "the original form" (the first creation). Everyone receives their own prakurthi at the moment of conception. When the semen and egg combine in the uterus, the dominant dosha produces specific properties and characteristics. This prakurthi remains constant throughout life. The prevailing dosha of a person is now also called “body type”.

When we look at different personalities and their nutritional needs, behavior and attitudes towards the environment, we discover that everyone has different needs in order to live as a healthy person. Even two people of the same height, weight, and age may have different needs and attitudes towards different types or amounts of food, drinks, and even activities.

It is therefore clear that the effects of nutrition, the environment, behavior, physical and psychological activities, etc. depend on the condition of the person. For example, if a person has an excess of Vatha, his constitution will be Vatha. Likewise, pitha dominance will lead to pitha constitution. Prakurthi usually shows susceptibility to disease. Kapha Prakurthi usually suffer from Kapha diseases such as obesity or colds.

Correct determination of a person's prakurthi requires a close examination by a specialist. Prakurthi, or body type, has a strong influence on determining the correct Ayurveda treatment.

Dhatu and Mala

Dhatu is the Sanskirt word for fabric. The human body is made up of seven basic tissues known as "Saptha Dhatu". Usually dhatu holds or supports the body. When this dhatu is deficient, it impairs the maintenance and nourishment of the body and leads to disease.

Mala is the name for waste materials. The human body produces three types of waste: stool, urine, and sweat. It is important that these waste products are excreted regularly, otherwise they will accumulate as toxins.

Agni and Ama

The other important principle of the basic physiology of Ayurveda is Agni. According to Ayurveda, every disturbance in digestion and metabolism leads to the formation of poisons (ama), which in turn lead to diseases. Agni directs these disorders.

When there is an imbalance in the Tri Dosha, Saptha Dhatu or Agni, the disease process begins. The balanced state of things mentioned above is responsible for a person's natural immunity.

Ayurveda treatments

There are two aspects to Ayurveda treatments

Cure diseases

Disease prevention

Shamana Chikithsa (Disease prevention)

manages the symptoms of the disease and treats the cause of the disease with the help of various Ayurveda medicine and therapies. In Ayurveda there are thousands of medicines consisting of herbs, minerals, and biological products, which are used singly or jointly to suppress and cure diseases, particularly when the disease is at an early stage.

Shodana chikithsa (Prevention of diseases)

is one of the most important and advanced techniques of Ayurveda - an internal cleansing process. This cleansing can be used to cure diseases and at the same time promote the health of the body. It's a unique science. With the help of Shodana Chikithsa it is possible to successfully cure such serious diseases as arthritis, paralysis, etc.

Shodana Chikithsa removes ama and mala (poisons) from the body and restores the balance of the dosha. Shodana Chikithsa consists of a 3-step cleansing process:

Purva Karma(Preparation) - the body is being prepared for purification

Pradhana Karma - the 5 techniques of purification (known as Pancha Karma treatment)

Pashath karma (Follow-up treatment) - Rejuvenation therapy